I was watching some of this afternoons NY Rangers-Carolina game in which the Rangers won 2-1 in a shootout. With the game tied 1-1 in the second it Carolina Hurricane goalie John Grahame got caught out of his net when he played a puck from the corner right to a Rangers player. The Ranger player shot the puck at the empty goal and John Grahame appeared to make a spectacular diving save with the puck deflecting off his goal stick, off the cross bar and out. The play went to video replay and the official announcement was ‘no goal as the puck hit the cross bar’. But upon my further review the puck did in fact enter the goal.
This first image shows the puck as it is approaching the goal.
This next image shows the puck just before it passes the goal post.
It isn’t real easy to see but this image shows the puck sitting right in front of Grahame’s goal stick which is clearly inside the goal.
The puck then deflected up, hit the cross bar and out. I have looked at the replay several times and am dumbfounded as to how the video replay judges could come the any conclusion other than the puck clearly crossed the goal line.
Now, some of you might say that, hey, the Rangers won anyway, but we must remember that they won in a shoot out and because of that the Carolina Hurricanes gained an extra point. With the Hurricanes, Rangers, Leafs, Canadiens and even the Bruins all in a fight for the final playoff spot in the east, it is certainly possible that that point could wind up being the difference between the Hurricanes making the playoffs over one of the other teams. There is simply no excuse for having video replay and still getting the solution wrong. Let’s hope that this does not affect the playoff race one way or another but with how close the playoff race is I am afraid it may.